Business Search Tools

Library Best Bets

Research databases provided by CPCC.

Click the tabs above for databases tutorials and more!.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
American City Business Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides local business news and analysis for over 40 major US cities, including Charlotte. The article archives span over 10 years of coverage.

Please contact your local Central Piedmont Library for access to this resource.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window
Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines
Data-Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Formerly ReferenceUSA. Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current)

To see more of CPCC's business research resources, click here.

Other Best Bets

Free websites hand-picked by librarians.

Above the Law
Legal industry info
The Charlotte Observer
Hometown paper; limited free access on their website. Char-Meck Public Library users have full access. For more on that, ask a librarian.
Consumerist
Business news related to consumers
Justia
Justia provides free case law, codes, regulations and legal information for lawyers, business, students and consumers world wide.
Library of Congress - Thomas
Includes Bills, Resolutions, Activity in Congress, Congressional Record, Schedules, Calendars, Committee Information, Presidential Nominations, Treaties, Government Resources. The link above opens an “About” page, which explains each content category and how it is organized for searching.
Yahoo Finance
Collects business news from around the free web

Did you find something you think you can use? See how it measures up against the CRAAP test:

C – Currency: When was this information written or last updated? Is it outdated?
R – Relevance: Does this help your topic? Is it an appropriate level?
A – Authority: Who wrote it? What are their qualifications?
A – Accuracy: Is it supported by evidence? Any typos or other errors?
P – Purpose: Is it trying to inform, sell, persuade, or entertain? Is the info fact, opinion, or propaganda? Why is the information here?

Legal Issues In Business - General Topics

Click a topic for a list of related articles

Copyright

Intellectual

Property

Employment

Law

Licensing

Patents &

Trademarks

Small

Business

Legislation

Provided by Proquest Entrepreneurship.

International Law Best Bets - Library

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots