InfoGuides: ENG112: Home

Start Your Research Here

This guide contains resources for ENG 112 Writing/Research in the Disciplines.

Start your research with tertiary and secondary sources to get a better understanding of your topic.

Tertiary sources, like encyclopedias, summarize or consolidate information on a topic or subject.
Secondary sources are books, periodicals, websites, etc. that analyze and interpret primary sources.
Primary sources are original sources and first-hand accounts from people who had a direct connection with an event or topic. Some examples include photographs, political cartoons, letters, diaries, interviews, oral histories, speeches, etc. To learn more about primary sources and how to use them, visit our Primary Sources guide.

Central Piedmont databases that contain primary, secondary, and tertiary sources are located below.

Use Central Piedmont's One-Search to search for books, ebooks, articles, news, and videos.

Global

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases covering a range of subjects from literature, to law, to science and more. All titles are full-text searchable. Credo also offers the ability to seamlessly search within other library resources such as the Central Piedmont Library Catalog and ProQuest making it a great place to begin your research.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming.

Offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages

National

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more

Local

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Selected full-text newspaper articles and newswires from the United States and abroad. NewsBank is particularly strong in providing access to local, state, regional, and national news.

Charlotte Data
Public data provided by the city of Charlotte
North Carolina Data
Demographic and other statistical info about North Carolina provided by the North Carolina government.
North Carolina Research Guide
Help with researching North Carolina topics for ENG 112 students

Consider also looking at state, county, and city government department websites that might also be connected to your topic.