CPCC Library logo

Central Piedmont Archives: Transferring Records to Archives

LibGuide for How to Access and Contribute to the History of Central Piedmont

Information for Central Piedmont Employees

To transfer physical records, please follow these steps:

  1. Please fill out the Records Transfer Form. Be sure to include your name, office location, phone number, and any other pertinent information.
  2. Please send records in sturdy boxes.
  3. Maintain the order in which the records were created and keep the papers in their original file folders. You may remove them from hanging folders, but if there is a file label with descriptive information on the hanging folder, please transfer that information to the standard file folder.
  4. Clearly label the boxes with the name of the transferring office, the box number (for instance, "President's Office, 1 of 3, 2 of 3, 3 of 3"), and any other pertinent information you think is necessary.
  5. Before sending the boxes to AT214 (Central Campus), please complete a transfer form and email it directly to Erin Allsop at erin.allsop@cpcc.edu. After your transfer form has been received, we will contact you regarding the physical transfer of the records.

We may be able to assist with the transfer, or we can schedule a convenient time to meet you. Transfers may be sent via campus mail or dropped off to AT214 at a pre-scheduled time/date.

To transfer born-digital records, please contact Erin Allsop (erin.allsop@cpcc.edu). We will need to connect with IT to create a folder instance in the H: Drive and Google Drive. 

Upon creation of these folder instances, you will be responsible for adding files marked for permanent retention to the appropriate folders. For more information on what to submit during this type of process, please consult the Collection Development page of this LibGuide.

Most, if not all, of our current institutional records are created and maintained in a digital format.  As a way to maintain and preserve these digital records, Central Piedmont Archives seeks to maintain the original order and format of these records. 

The types of digital records we accept include:

  • PowerPoint presentations
  • Word and PDF Documents
  • Websites (Databases, Social Media)
  • Digital photographs
  • Digital Audio/Video recordings
  • E-Mail*
    • While email is considered a vital correspondence, we do not yet have a plan for archiving and preserving email at this time. Please consult with ITS to ensure that your email is being archived appropriately.

For storage, Central Piedmont Archives utilizes the internal H Drive and the Google Drive. We are currently in the process of researching digital preservation platforms, so as to ensure access to public digital records for future generations. 

Loading ...

Information for Public Donations

Central Piedmont Archives welcomes the public to donate physical and born-digital materials that fit within the collection scope of our institution, and relate to the history of the College, Central High School, and the surrounding neighborhoods of Elizabeth and Cherry.  If you are not a current CP employee and are interested in donating to the CP archives please contact Erin Allsop at (erin.allsop@cpcc.edu). We will need to discuss the materials in question before they are sent to archives.

Archivist

Erin Allsop's picture
Erin Allsop
Contact:
Central Campus, ATC214
P.O. Box 35009
Charlotte, NC 28235
704.330.6373
Website