Premier database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals,and continuing education modules.
This database provides over 250 full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Student Resources online at DavisPlus--Redeem the Plus Code, inside new, printed texts, to gain access. Davis Digital Version lets you access your complete text online. Student questions and Interactive Case Studies offer additional practice. Comprehensive coverage of pediatric and neonatal diseases, including perinatal lung diseases * common neonatal complications * congenital diseases * pediatric pulmonary and upper airway diseases * and neuromuscular disorders. A consistent presentation in each disease chapter enhances your knowledge and skills... Unfolding clinical case studies in every chapter familiarize you with real-world patient experiences to enhance your critical-thinking skills and help you apply your knowledge to practice. In-depth discussions cover the background, pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, management and treatment, and the course and prognosis for each disease. "Clinical Variations" describe aspects of diseases, patient assessments, and diagnostic tools that may be misunderstood or overlooked. "Evidence in Practice" introduces new and developing methods for managing patients and diseases. "Teamwork" presents important concepts and best practices on how to work well in a team. "Special Populations" identifies patient demographics that may require you to employ special care or considerations for your patients. Multiple-choice review questions at the end of every chapter help you assess your progress.
This book discusses many of the day-to-day needs of children who require long-term respiratory support. This includes their physical requirements, but also their emotional, social and educational needs, and the needs of their families. The medical and technical aspects of these children’s care can seem overwhelming. However, arguably the more complex and challenging parts of their management concern things that are not directly related to their physical care, such as facilitating their social needs and education. This book aims to discuss all the aspects of care that such children and their families may need, and also to place these in the context of seeing the child as a whole person and as a part of society. To achieve this, six case studies of children who need long-term respiratory support are used throughout the book..
The History of Respiratory Therapy by Dennis W. Glover
Call Number: RC735 .I5 G55 2010, Central Library - Circulating Collection - Request at Desk
Publication Date: 2010
The History of Respiratory Therapy: Discovery and Evolution includes the earliest beginning of the inhalational practice of medicine, vapors, and aromatherapy around 6,000 B.C. Its roots are in Egypt, China, India, and the middle East. From there, it spreads to Europe and the Americas. Some highlights include: In 6000 B.C. aromatherapy has its beginning. In 3000 B.C. Egypt, tracheostomy is depicted on a sculptured slab. 2600 B.C. there is mention of inhalational treatment for asthma in China. Tuberculosis-Pott's Disease is found in mummies in Egypt around 2400 B.C. In 1275 A.D., Lillius discovers ether but it is not apparently used until 1842 when Crawford Long M.D. administers ether to remove two cysts from a patient.In 1783, Caillens was first reported doctor to use oxygen therapy as a remedy. In 1873, Theodore Billroth M.D. performs first laryngectomy. In 1917, Captain Stokes M.D. uses a rubber nasal catheter and nasal prongs to administed oxygen for WWI pulmonary edema patients. But only in the past 100 years is the major evolution of respiratory therapy been realized.The History of Respiratory Therapy: Discovery and Evolution is the first comprehensive written book on this subject and makes it a pioneer which officially documents information which is scattered throughout various resources