Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Databases
Alexander Street This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street contains thousands of articles and videos on a wide variety of subjects, including history, literature, performing arts, and others. Alexander Street allows you to search all of the databases below from one place. Databases may also be accessed individually to allow for a more focused search.
Academic Video Online
Black Thought and Culture
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Civil War Letters and Diaries
Disability in the Modern World
Early Encounters in North America
Environmental Issues Online
Film Scripts Online
Food Studies Online
Human Rights Studies Online
LGBT Thought and Culture
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Indian Thought and Culture
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Performance Design Archive Online
Revolution and Protest Online
Social Work Online
The Gilded Age
The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Women and Social Movements, International
Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires Since 1820
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States contains approximately 1,600 primary source documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:
- Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
- The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
- Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
- The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
- The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
- The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Covers the expansion of civil rights in America through government publications, legislation, Supreme Court briefs, and more.
History Databases Part 1
History Vault, 1812-1995 This link opens in a new window
Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly content on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. history.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment This link opens in a new window
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers access to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases covering a range of subjects from literature, to law, to science and more. All titles are full-text searchable. Credo also offers the ability to seamlessly search within other library resources such as the CPCC Library Catalog and ProQuest making it a great place to begin your research.
African-American Studies LibGuide
History Databases Part 2
History Study Center This link opens in a new window
History Study Center covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. History Study Center provides over 40,000 documents and articles, with over 50 reference works, 3,000 images and links to 2,000 Web sites.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
ProQuest Congressional, 1789-2003 This link opens in a new window
ProQuest® Congressional allows you to explore Congress in action with the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research. You can perform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest.
Slavery in America and the World This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.